Scottish Rockers GUN Announce New Album “Hombres”

Gun Hombres Band image on Screen One


Scottish rock heroes GUN are delighted to announce their ninth studio album, Hombres, is set for release in April 2024 via a new label deal with Cooking Vinyl. It is the first album of all new music from the group since 2017’s Favourite Pleasures, which entered the UK official album chart at #16, and also features new full-time guitarist, Ru Moy, adding further heft to their rock ballast.

Gun – All Fired Up (Official video)

Guitarist Giuliano “Jools” Gizzi enthuses, “This is one of the proudest pieces of work we’ve ever done, truly it’s Gun in its finest form.”

Vocalist Dante Gizzi adds, “We are proud of the new record and know the fans will love it. We always try to push forward and innovate; it’s essential as it’s how we keep ourselves passionate and excited about making music after so long together. It’s important to bring new blood and fresh ideas into the band, too, and Ru has already added a new dynamic.”

Director of Cooking Vinyl, Rob Collins declares, “I am very proud to welcome Scottish rock royalty to Cooking Vinyl. Not only have they endured the good and bad times, they have now, in their 34th year, come up with the best album of their career. Gun deserve your attention.“

To celebrate, today the band share infectious, hook-laden new single “All Fired Up”, which is available on all streaming platforms now, and its official lyric video. 

Gun Merch on Screen One

Dante elaborates, “’All Fired Up’ is a nod to what we all went through during lockdown; it represents the pent-up frustrations we all had and this is an artistic release of all that built up energy!”

Directed by Kieran Howe & the team at Morsecode, watch the official lyric video here or by clicking below. Get the single here.

The thirteen tracks on Hombres were recorded and produced by Simon Bloor (Trevor Horn) with mixing by Daryl Thorpe (Foo Fighters) at Morsecode Studios and Strongroom Studio. The record boasts guest vocals from Beverley Skeete (Elton John, Chaka Khan, Tom Jones, Johnny Cash), Mary Pearce (Primal Scream, Lionel Ritchie, Chaka Khan) and Sarah-Jane Skeete (Robbie Williams, Kylie Minogue, Bill Wyman) of The Sisterhood on several tracks, as well as a guest performance on the drums from Joe Lazerus of Twin Atlantic.

The album will be available in multiple formats as both standard and deluxe editions, including on CD, vinyl, and digitally. Pre-order now here

Gun Hombres alnbum cover on Screen One

Hombres track list (Standard edition)

1. All Fired Up

2. Boys Don’t Cry

3. Take Me Back Home

4. Fake Life

5. Falling

6. You Are What I Need

7. Never Enough

8. Don’t Hide Your Fears Tonight

9. Lucky Guy

10. A Shift In Time

Deluxe edition

11. Coming Back To You

12. Wrong To Be Right

13. Pride

Later today, GUN and Sharleen Spiteri of Texas top the bill at Resonate, the Scottish music industry conference. The two bands sprang out of the Glasgow circuit at the same time in the ‘80s, managed by the same stable at that point – and now reunite for the first time in decades. Stage sponsors GUN headline the live bill, debuting new single “All Fired Up” and tunes from Hombres, while Sharleen is the keynote speaker. GUN are keen to support what they see as a vital resource in helping grow Scotland’s music industry and provide opportunities for emerging talent.

Dante comments, “We are super proud to be part of Resonate this year – it’s a brilliant event which works hard to create, nourish and grow a music industry here in Scotland so artists, managers, and so on can make a career here without having to go to London like back in the day. We are excited to perform and be part of an event dedicated to supporting emerging talent on and off stage – that’s a big part of who we are now. We want to help showcase the incredible talent there is in Scotland.”

Gun  2023 Tour poster on Screen One

Leave a Reply